RSS

A Memory of a Christmas Past

11 Dec

I want to share this story with you all at this time of the year.

At this time of the year, many memorys are relived, watching the Carols by Candlelight,watching old Christmas movies, hearing Bing Crosby, Charles Dickens and The Ghosts of the past, present and future.

This is a true story I wrote many years ago, but back then I refrained from disclosing the full truth of that story, why ? It had a profound effect on me, as a poetic writer, I admit , my heart emotions run gently and I feel emotions of the heart deeply, I felt the truth of the incident were too personal to be understood.

I now share with you my Ghost from the past, my Christmas story.

After I retired from twenty years in the Australian Army, I was retired,I had a pension to get by on but time was hanging on my hands.

I took on various jobs, shark fishing off the coast of Tasmania, potato picking, grape picking and even a pub bouncer, till I got sick of being headbutted.

Then I decided to do a volunteer job for a community organization, the hours fluctuated, but was usually , an hour in the morning, an hour at midday and an hour in the afternoon. I became a Radio Announcer for the Vision Impaired.

I enjoyed my voluntary work, it gave me sense of worth and that I was contributing to society.

After two and a half years, Christmas came around, I had no partner and was sharing Christmas alone, I took myself off for a Christmas eve dinner at one of the local clubs.

Being Christmas eve, the dining room was packed, roughly over sixty diners were enjoying their meals, the noise was loud and full of gaity, I ordered my meal and proceeded to enjoy the meal and the laughter and gaiety around me.

Suddenly I felt a touch on my shoulder, I looked up and saw a beautiful girl staring at me, she said, you are Ian Felton arent you ?, I had never seen this girl before and replied yes, I am Ian.

She said I always wanted to see you

The girl then gently ran the fingers of both hands over my face. Yes she said, you are the Ian Felton I envisaged. She leant down and whispered into my ear, thank you Ian for keeping me company during the long hours in my dark world.

It was only as she walked away, that I realized she was blind, as I saw her take the white cane that was propped against the table.

The girl had recognized my voice out of a room full of boisterous gaiety.

Soon after that Christmas eve, for personal reasons, I retired as a radio broadcaster for the blind.

That girl taught me a lesson that Christmas eve.

Christmas is not always about what you see, its about what you feel in your heart.

Merry Christmas all, and share the love in your heart

Ian aka Emu

 
34 Comments

Posted by on December 11, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

34 responses to “A Memory of a Christmas Past

  1. cat

    January 16, 2016 at 07:00

    Love that X Mas story, Ian … hope u had a marvelous X Mas and New Year in Chile … miss u … Love, cat.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • aussieian2011

      February 8, 2016 at 07:00

      Hi Cat, just returned from Chile, settling back into routine and looking forward to catching up on posts.
      Hope you had a great Christmas and New Year Girl, I did send you a post card from Chile and do hope you received it.
      I have some great blogs coming up, all different and interesting.
      Hope you are going well my lovely friend Cat.
      Cheers
      Emu and Ian

      Like

       
  2. Sue Dreamwalker

    December 24, 2015 at 07:00

    Wishing both You and Ana a wonderful Christmas Ian.. Enjoy your time in Chile..
    and best wishes for 2016

    Love Sue ❤

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      February 8, 2016 at 07:00

      Hi Sue, beautiful to return from Chile and find your lovely comment, thank you for the lovely Christmas Bauble wish.
      I sincerely hope you had a Great Christmas and are having a great start to the New Year.
      I look forward to catching up on all the news of my friends on Word Press and also seeing how your allotment has been progressing on my absence.
      I have many interesting posts coming up Sue, from one hundred and twenty Million year old Glaciers and submerged marble ice caves, right through to Bohemian photographs throughout Chile and the Patagonia region down south towards the Antarctica.
      I am putting together a collection for a Photographic exhibition here in my hometown later this year.
      I must admit I did miss my friends on Word Press, amazing just how much friendship does mean to people on Word Press, who have never met, or are unlikely to in the future, it is really a family atmosphere, and beautiful.
      Ana and I send you lots of love Sue, you are a special person in our Life.
      Cheers
      Ian and Emu, yes I bought the Emu back with me.
      I am putting together a collection for a

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Sue Dreamwalker

        February 9, 2016 at 07:00

        Oh so lovely to know you both back home and that you had such a fabulous time… That photo exhibition sounds phenomenal and I will be sure to tune into your posts..
        Yes the community spirit here on WP is exceptional and I class both you and Ana amongst my long time friends here..

        Yes We had a wonderful Christmas and I look forward to seeing your amazing new posts.. Enjoy your week Ian.. and please pass along my Love to Ana.. 🙂
        Welcome Home.. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

         
  3. jacksjottings

    December 17, 2015 at 07:00

    You will have another nice Christmas story about Chile.
    Looking forward to it as I enjoy this one. _/_

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      December 17, 2015 at 07:00

      Thanks Jack, should have some great pics to go with a few posts on my return.
      Best wishes for a great Christmas mate.
      43 here in Mildura, going for another beer.
      Cheers.

      Like

       
  4. jasmindamaro

    December 17, 2015 at 07:00

    dein blog ist immer voll ueberraschungen sehr gut geschrieben esist wieder mal eine sehr interesante storry alles liebe big hug von jasmin

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      December 17, 2015 at 07:00

      Thank you Jasmine for your lovely friendship over the year.
      I will be gone till late February.
      I wish you a Beautiful Christmas and a Wonderful New Year.

      Like

       
  5. Australian Stockman

    December 17, 2015 at 07:00

    Wonderful story … thank you for sharing it with us Isn

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      December 17, 2015 at 07:00

      Thanks mate
      Best wishes for a great Christmas.
      Cheers.

      Like

       
      • Australian Stockman

        December 18, 2015 at 07:00

        And all the best to you and yours Ian

        Like

         
        • aussieian2011

          December 18, 2015 at 07:00

          Thank you my friend, I look forward to following your adventures after my return from Chile.
          Kindest regards and Best Wishes for a beaut Christmas.

          Like

           
  6. natswans

    December 16, 2015 at 07:00

    Great story Ian brought a tear..so very touching . Loved it.
    Have a great Christmas in Chile and Ana

    Best Wishes
    Thank you for sharing this story.

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      December 17, 2015 at 07:00

      Thanks Sheila, glad you enjoyed my story.
      Best wishes for a great Christmas.
      Cheers.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  7. Cryptic Garland

    December 15, 2015 at 07:00

    What a great story Ian. That’s one for the pool room.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • aussieian2011

      December 15, 2015 at 07:00

      True story mate, one of my experiences as a radio broadcaster for the Blind way back when, one other story which I don’t write about, was proposing to my second wife on the air and she rang in to the station to accept. Bloody memories can be a torment as years go by, as well as the proverbial guilt trip.
      Cheers John.

      Like

       
      • Cryptic Garland

        December 15, 2015 at 07:00

        Now that should be written down. What a story.

        Liked by 1 person

         
        • aussieian2011

          December 15, 2015 at 07:00

          Not after all these years mate, I did post a song a long time ago.
          It still echoes on my mind, maybe you will understand after hearing it John.
          Cheers.

          Like

           
  8. reocochran

    December 15, 2015 at 07:00

    Oh, so sweet a service you did for the visually impaired, Ian! 🙂 ♡ ♡ This is a lovely holiday story with sweet memory of how you touched someone’s heart.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • aussieian2011

      December 15, 2015 at 07:00

      Thank you for that lovely compliment Robin, it was a little moment that I always cherished.
      Best wishes for a Beautiful Christmas.
      Cheers.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • reocochran

        February 23, 2016 at 07:00

        Hope your 2nd month of the new year is going well for you and your Ana, family, too. ♡♡♡

        Liked by 1 person

         
        • aussieian2011

          February 24, 2016 at 07:00

          Hi Robin, lovely to read one of your beautiful comments as usual, yes our second month is going smoothly, still winding down from all the travel, immediately after returning from Chile we attended the Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo here, so more plane flights.
          Settling down now and trying to catch up on Word Press.
          Kindest regards and best wishes.
          Ian aka Emu

          Like

           
  9. giselzitrone

    December 13, 2015 at 07:00


    Wünsche dir einen schönen 3 Advent lieber Gruß und Umarmung Gislinde

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • aussieian2011

      December 13, 2015 at 07:00

      Thank you for the beautiful Roses Dear Gislinde.
      You are a Beautiful Caring Girl and a Lovely Friend.
      My Kindest regards and Best Wishes to you.

      Like

       
  10. auntyuta

    December 12, 2015 at 07:00

    Great story, Ian. You say; “Christmas is not always about what you see, its about what you feel in your heart.” I find this to be very true. Thank you so much for sharing. And have a wonderful Christmas with Ana in Chile.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • aussieian2011

      December 13, 2015 at 07:00

      Thanks Uta, pleased you enjoyed my story, best wishes to you and Peter.
      May your Christmas and New Year be one of Love and Happiness.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  11. Laine Jensen

    December 12, 2015 at 07:00

    Wonderful Story! Thank you so much for sharing, Ian. I’m so inspired 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

     
  12. jacquelineobyikocha

    December 12, 2015 at 07:00

    What a beautiful story 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

     
  13. davidprosser

    December 12, 2015 at 07:00

    Heat touching story In. I hope this Christmas is your best ever.
    Nadolig Llawen
    Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

     
  14. sudiste1359

    December 12, 2015 at 07:00

    magical,
    ps: update my wp, with IE you can hear music and see flash graphic

    Liked by 1 person

     
  15. prenin

    December 11, 2015 at 07:00

    Merry Christmas my friend! 🙂

    You will ALWAYS be an inspiration to me! 🙂

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  16. GP Cox

    December 11, 2015 at 07:00

    Outstanding story, Ian. You made a major contribution without even realizing it!! That is the spirit of Christmas!!

    Liked by 2 people

     

Leave a Reply

 
Baydreamer

poetry and tidbits by lauren scott

Russel Ray Photos

Life from Southern California, mostly San Diego County

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Peppermint

Wicked Commentary

Michiko's space

Just another WordPress.com site

ckpeacemaker.wordpress.com/

^.^ Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Worpress ^.^

Sweet Planet Poems

poems about subjects dear to the heart

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life via poetry and prose

Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

