RSS

Candles of Gold

02 Sep

Welcome To My World

I am your Brother

I am your Father

You are my Sister

You are my Mother

I am your Grandfather

I am the young boy

with trembling knees

Who prayed and waited

For the whistle of death

A pistol in hand you called me

Over the top into the pits of Hell

Yet amidst the screaming

Of war overhead

We sheltered together

We beat the drums of war

A shared cigarette

A shaking hand

There was no more

Again and again

I cried in Hell

Waiting for the whine

Of the final shell

A shared cigarette

With Bluey and Jack

And then there was no more

Gallipoli and Lone Pine

Shared cigarettes

And then there was no more

A red cross parcel

Jams and socks

Meat and biscuits

But more than that

Cigarettes we shared

Me Bluey and Jack

Time passes in a twinkling of an eye

In war

Gallipoli and…

View original post 539 more words

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 2, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “Candles of Gold

  1. reocochran

    September 10, 2015 at 07:00

    This is so respectful and a great tribute to your brave soldiers, Ian. I respect soldiers and believe in honoring them. Do hate war, though. Peace and love wishes. . . Robin

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      September 10, 2015 at 07:00

      Thanks Robin, it was written as I perceived the time of Soldiers during the second World War.
      Thanks for appreciating my work Robin.
      Kind regards.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  2. Sue Dreamwalker

    September 3, 2015 at 07:00

    Excellent poem Ian.. and I am so pleased you shared this again… For this is one I had not read before… x

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • aussieian2011

      September 3, 2015 at 07:00

      Thanks Sue, I think in my early days I blogged fast, and so ended up with not many comments or readers.
      I am getting a few old friends who missed the post and a few new follower, who see it for the first time.
      Cheers.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Sue Dreamwalker

        September 3, 2015 at 07:00

        And always a pleasure Ian even to read your older poems..My mind often retains the essence of a poem when I have read it.. But each time I do read its still fresh as the very first time of reading.. x 🙂 And I really enjoyed reading this one

        Liked by 1 person

         

Leave a Reply

 
witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Russel Ray Photos

Life from Southern California, mostly San Diego County

Baydreamer

poetry and tidbits by lauren scott

Firelands History Website

"Sufferers' Land" Tales by Dave Barton

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Peppermint

Wicked Commentary

Michiko's space

Just another WordPress.com site

ckpeacemaker.wordpress.com/

^.^ Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Worpress ^.^

Sweet Planet Poems

poems about subjects dear to the heart

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life via poetry and prose

Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

