RSS

The Sword of Wisdom

09 Feb

 photo c1ccd04e5084b050ebbc0e5cu4-1.jpg

The Sword of Wisdom

Night can be a friend

Blanketing memories of bygone hurts

And bygone pains

Night can also be an enemy

Conjuring up images

That are best left forgotten

Yet you were always in my mind

And in a night of dreams

A night not long ago

You came to me

Through the veils of times of long ago

A time of knights and damsels

From the world of Avalon

When once I sat at the table of Wisdom

I let myself wander

Back to a time once lived

On ancient lands

In an ancient life

You took my heart

You had my love for evermore

A face so pale and exquisite

With golden hair cascading

Hair blessed by the rays

Of the dawns first sunlight kiss

Eyes of the deepest blue

Reflecting the depths of the oceans

And holding secrets of a young girls love

A knight of old

Lost in a world of love

With a love so young

A knight so bold as to fall in love

With one from another life

I broke the code of wisdom

I broke the code of Arthurs law

I reached for the heart

That was never mine

For Arthurs table held no place

For a knight so bold

To bring disgrace

Banished from the table of wisdom

An ancient heart

A new born love

And still my princess

My princess of Avalon

You have my love

I fought for you in days of yore

When my heart ruled my mind

And emotions

You swore eternal love

And in the final throes

Of my tormented heart

I saw between your deceit

I saw behind your lies

A knight so bold

Tormented in memories of old

You come to me in dreams

And still I hear the sweetest words

My knight so bold

Forget the times

Forget the age

You have my love

For all eternity

Do not weep upon your heart

For your princess of Avalon

Gives you her heart to keep

Now times have changed

Many suns have crossed the skies

Yet still I recall so long ago

All emotions of my heart

All in one accord

Failed to heed the wisdom

That time and space and young age

Can never last forever more

My heart was broken by mistrust

And long ago in days of yore

An ancient knight

Died upon Arthurs sword

A love lost to young age

A love of betrayal

And mistrust

 photo Aussie-Ian2013_zps697a5a7d.gif

 
44 Comments

Posted by on February 9, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

44 responses to “The Sword of Wisdom

  1. Mélanie

    March 3, 2014 at 07:00

    Hello-Bonjour romantic Aussie Ian! 🙂 First of all: thanx-merci for your kind visits at my crossroads… 2nd of all: I love your country and Ian is my American son-in-law’s name… 🙂
    * * *
    my very best, tons of inspiration, a positive week and friendly thoughts… cheers! 🙂 Mélanie – Toulouse(the European capital of space & aviation), France, “old Europe”… 🙂

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      March 3, 2014 at 07:00

      Thank you Dear Melanie for your Beautiful visit and comment.
      I give you this poem that was written in another life and time.
      Wishing you much Love and Happiness
      Ian aka Emu
      A Paris Love Affair

      Do you recall the night my love

      When once we strolled

      The streets of olde Paris

      Beneath the gas lamps

      Shrouded in soft falling rain

      Hand in hand

      On the cobblestones

      On that night of love

      We strolled

      Feeling the cold mists rising

      From the river Seine

      We were so in love

      My sweet heart

      Your eyes sparkled

      In those early days

      Of our happiness

      I gazed into your eyes

      With adoration

      And caressed

      Your long radiant hair

      Protected that evening

      By the parasol

      The gas lamps

      Had just been lit

      And you shyly

      Clasped my hand

      In your soft tender grip

      Betoking tenderness in love

      We strolled till late

      My sweet heart

      Till the gas lamps

      Grew dim

      And beneath their fading light

      We kissed

      We professed our love for eternity

      And arm in arm

      In an ancient life

      Our souls faded

      Into the mists

      Of the river Seine as

      We strolled that olde Paris Street

      Like

       
  2. Aiq

    February 26, 2014 at 07:00

    😉

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      March 3, 2014 at 07:00

      Lovely to hear from you after all this time my Dear AIQ from Estonia.
      You are sadly missed in my wordpress, I wondered a few times if you are still posting those beautiful posts.
      I hope you are well my friend and by your picture you appear to be in beautiful health, and very pretty.
      Regards
      Ian aka Emu

      Like

       
  3. giselzitrone

    February 21, 2014 at 07:00

    Wünsche dir ein gutes und schönes Wochenende liebe Grüße und Freundschaft.Gislinde

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      March 3, 2014 at 07:00

      Danke Liebe Gislinde für Ihre schöne Wünsche, ich entschuldige mich, weil sie so spät bei der Beantwortung von Ihren Kommentar. Ich habe bei dem Versuch, meine Gedichte in Buchform erhalten beschäftigt gewesen und es hat mich in meinem Weg hinter WordPress hinterlassen hat.
      Ich schätze und liebe deinen Besuch, ich hoffe, Sie sind gut und glücklich, mein Freund.
      Mit freundlichen Grüßen
      Ian

      Like

       
  4. Ajaytao2010

    February 15, 2014 at 07:00

    Nice reading about you

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Be in touch. Browse through the category sections, I feel you may find something of your interest.

    Happy New Year !!!!!!! and best wishes for you in 2014 🙂

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      March 3, 2014 at 07:00

      Thank you for taking the time to visit my site and comment.
      I am now following your site and seeing a very artistic contributor to WordPress.
      You have a very fine eye and appreciation of beauty and culture.
      I wish you well.
      Ian aka Emu

      Like

       
      • Ajaytao2010

        March 4, 2014 at 07:00

        Thank you so much dear 🙂

        Like

         
        • aussieian2011

          March 7, 2014 at 07:00

          Thank you for taking the time to visit and comment my friend.
          Wishing you much happiness and a beautiful weekend.
          Ian aka Emu

          Like

           
  5. michiko

    February 13, 2014 at 07:00

    Hii Ian !
    Thank you for coming to see me What a lovely to see your sweet your home….
    and you are getting better for you Ian.
    I hope we will haing a raining coming soon…
    Have a good time,
    Michiko

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      March 3, 2014 at 07:00

      Lovely to hear from you Michiko.
      I am well now my lovely friend, and hope you are in good health as well.
      Yes we have had a very hot summer this year, particularly here in Mildura.
      The weather is slowly cooling down now and wont be long till the rains come down.
      My kindest regards to you Michiko.
      Ian aka Emu

      Like

       
  6. Doris

    February 12, 2014 at 07:00

    Hi Ian,
    That is a beautiful poem my friend.
    I hope your week is going will hun
    hugs

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      February 12, 2014 at 07:00

      Good morning Doris, thank you for that lovely comment,
      I like to know that some of my writings do give pleasure to my friends.
      Hoping you are well.
      Regards
      Ian

      Like

       
  7. sudiste1359

    February 12, 2014 at 07:00

    hi dear, thanks a lot for your visit and chinese wishes
    Hope that this year’ll be better for me and specially my sister, getting off her sickness
    hugs to you and family

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      February 12, 2014 at 07:00

      Thank you Sudiste for the visit.
      I do hope you have a great year,and I wish your sister a speedy recovery and great health
      Kind regards Dear friend.
      Ian

      Like

       
  8. gpcox

    February 11, 2014 at 07:00

    We never forget a true love, beautiful poem, Ian.

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      February 12, 2014 at 07:00

      Thanks for the comment, glad you appreciated it.
      Enjoying your posts on Korea but takes me a bit of time to get around to commenting.
      Cheers
      Ian

      Like

       
      • gpcox

        February 12, 2014 at 07:00

        No problem, Ian. I’m the same way; I don’t want to talk just for the sake of talking.

        Like

         
  9. giselzitrone

    February 10, 2014 at 07:00

    Wunderschönes Gedicht gefällt mir sehr,gute Besserung für dich und eine gute und glückliche Woche.Liebe Grüße Gislinde

    Like

     
  10. cat

    February 10, 2014 at 07:00

    This is one of your best, Ian … Love, cat.

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      February 11, 2014 at 07:00

      Thank you Cat,always appreciate comments from my old friend.
      Wishing you well and lots of love.
      Ian

      Like

       
  11. penpusherpen

    February 10, 2014 at 07:00

    Love the music and your words entwined Ian, make for a wonderful experience. The Arthurian Legend, of Knights and chilvalry are a feast for one such as thee, able to tell the story so well. forbidden love , hearts broken, and disgrace suffered. magical my friend. So good to see you back here again. xPenx

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      February 12, 2014 at 07:00

      Thanks for the beautiful comment Pen, love it when my writing brings pleasure to my friends.
      I havent been on here much lately due to a short time in hospital, improving now and trying to build up my enthusiasm for writing again.
      Hoping you are well and alls good in your life.
      Kind regards
      Ian

      Like

       
  12. Arthouse Wijn-Ton.

    February 9, 2014 at 07:00

    Exellent Poem Ian as per.. you really should consider putting all your creative works published.. you really do have a way with words… 🙂

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      February 9, 2014 at 07:00

      Thank you for that great compliment my friend, glad you enjoy my words.
      I would love to have all my poetry in book form, alas finances do not permit me at this stage,
      so my satisfaction is sharing my writings with my wordpress friends.
      I wish you much happiness and love.
      Regards
      Ian aka Emu

      Like

       
  13. Clowie

    February 9, 2014 at 07:00

    That’s very touching.

    Like

     
  14. auntyuta

    February 9, 2014 at 07:00

    I liked listening to the Celtic music while reading your poem, Ian. Do you experience some inner peace after having written a poem like this one? Reading it again after some time has gone by it probably means a lot to you, I should think. Maybe it is some kind of meditation? You certainly are a brilliant wordsmith. Thank you very much for sharing. Hope you and Ana are well and had a good weekend.
    Sincerely, Auntyuta

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      February 9, 2014 at 07:00

      Thank you for that great compliment Auntyuta, I think my words are an amplification of the sensitive part of my heart.
      I write as I feel and ponder on the words after they are written, rarely do I need to make any changes.
      Ana and I are well although I am still recovering from my three days in hospital, the heat is not helping also, I have noticed one of our mutual friends on here, Noeleen from Wordsfallfromyeyes, has removed her site, sad.
      Regards to you both.
      Ian

      Like

       
      • auntyuta

        February 10, 2014 at 07:00

        I found out from Noeleen, that she wants to devote her limited spare time for the time being to finishing her novel. Sadly she needs to spend a lot of time at her job to earn some money. This is why she feels she has not enough spare time. And she really likes to finish her novel. It would be really good if she could eventually earn some money with this novel!
        Wishing you all the best for a speedy recovery, Ian.
        Regards to you both from Peter and me, Uta. 🙂

        Like

         
        • aussieian2011

          February 11, 2014 at 07:00

          Good morning Auntyuta, thanks for explaining Noeleens disappearance, her writings will be missed.
          I too would like to see her writings in book form.
          Hoping you are both well, regards to Peter.
          Ian

          Like

           
          • auntyuta

            February 11, 2014 at 07:00

            Good morning, dear Ian. I miss Noeleen’s blogging and comments already. I hope she’ll be able to finish her book asap. I am still ‘recovering’ from a long weekend with family. Peter went out jogging on the oval at Albion Park. Hope the high temperatures at Mildura are going to subside somewhat very soon. Still lots of bushfires all over Victoria. Our grandson Tristan lives with his wife and two little girls at Wurbarton (North East from Melbourne). Their house is at present not in danger. But I think there’s a bit of smoke in their area and they have to stay on their watch in case the weather gets bad for the fires.
            Here in Dapto all is well. Temperature at present in the low twenties.
            Wishing you and Ana all the best for the rest of the week! 🙂
            Auntyuta

            Like

             
            • auntyuta

              February 11, 2014 at 07:00

              Sorry, it’s “Warburton”, Victoria.

              Like

               
            • aussieian2011

              February 12, 2014 at 07:00

              Certainly a few fires still out of control down here in Victoria Auntyuta.
              Ana and I attend an army reunion each year down at Healesville and we travel through the Warburton area quite often when down there, believe it was also in the area of the bushfires in 2009.
              Temps are still fluctuating here.
              Regards
              Ian

              Like

               
              • auntyuta

                February 12, 2014 at 07:00

                Hi Ian, Tristan and family were for a couple of years in Tasmania and then moved back to Victoria. They’ve lived in Warburton only for a couple of years. For two year in a row in April we’ve seen them there It’s quite hilly with lots of trees and the Yarra River close by. Beautiful place! Got to do a bit of cooking now.
                Cheers, Auntyuta.

                Like

                 
                • aussieian2011

                  March 3, 2014 at 07:00

                  Sorry for the late reply Auntyuta, busy lately trying to get my writings into manuscript form.
                  I lived for ten years in a little village in Tasmania called Longford, just out of Launceston, a rural setting where I worked as a stock hand on a cow farm.
                  Before that back in my Army days , I spent 6 years living in Healesville Victoria, up in the Yarra Valley ranges which I return to each year, I know Warburton well and many other towns around there, you may recall a post of mine where I wrote about the effects of the 2009 bushfires.
                  A beautiful part of Australia, crystal mountain streams full of trout.
                  We are going back again this year in November before we head to Santiago Chile.
                  Wishing both you and Peter well.
                  Regards
                  Ian

                  Like

                   
                  • auntyuta

                    March 3, 2014 at 07:00

                    Thanks, Ian. My goodness, it’s March already! Lent starts on Wednesday, the 5th. Our son Martin, who lives in Melbourne, wants to come and visit us during the Easter holidays together with his wife and one daughter. Then for my 80th birthday all the family, including grandson Tristan with his family want to come to our area for some celebrations! Therefore I have no idea when we are going to make it to Victoria again. I would have loved to find out how Noeleen from ‘Words fall from my eyes’ is doing now. I very much hope that she is all right. Last year in April we were able to meet her in Melbourne during her lunch break. It was great to meet her in person. It was also very good to meet you and Ana.
                    We often think back to the day we spent in Mildura.
                    I think it is great that you keep yourself busy with writing and getting it into manuscript form. And I bet you and Ana are looking forward to another trip to Chile.
                    Best wishes to both of you! Love,
                    Auntyuta 🙂

                    Like

                     
                    • aussieian2011

                      March 12, 2014 at 07:00

                      Good morning Auntyuta, a fine and pleasant morning here in Mildura. Time is passing quickly, yes Easter will soon be upon us, as will ANZAC day.Sounds like a great time for the family when your son arrives, that combined with your 80th birthday should be great.I wonder how Noeleen is doing as well, maybe she will resurface on here again someday.
                      I am down to the last 100 poems I am editing and printing for a publisher, so far I have done 310 poems so I have quite a lot. I have 70 so far in draft in my wordpress space so that my friends can read the edited and final version, some I have not posted before.
                      Wishing you well
                      Regards
                      Ian

                      Like

                       
                    • auntyuta

                      March 12, 2014 at 07:00

                      Good afternoon, Ian, pleasantly sunny here in Dapto right now. Peter and I spent the day in Sydney where we had an appointment at a holistic dental centre. When we got home we made straight away some tea and sat with it for a while in our backyard catching some of the beautiful afternoon sun. By the way my birthday is not until September, however we’re making plans already!

                      Wishing you and Ana good health! I believe a bit of sunshine on your skin does improve your health! Wishing you some enjoyable breaks from the computer from time to time to relax a bit in the sun. But it is really good to hear that you’re working on your poems. You’ll be very happy to see them in print. Thanks for always publishing some on wordpress.
                      Auntyuta 🙂

                      Like

                       
                    • aussieian2011

                      March 18, 2014 at 07:00

                      Good Morning Auntyuta,a lovely sunny day here in Mildura this Tuesday morning.
                      I recall now you mentioned your birthday in September, same month as Mine.
                      I am at the final stages of editing my poems now, I have 200 already in draft in my WordPress.
                      All up I have about 480, hopefully some publisher will like them.
                      Ana cannot take too much sun but I just turn brown.
                      Wishing you and Peter well.
                      Regards
                      Ian

                      Like

                       
                  • auntyuta

                    March 18, 2014 at 07:00

                    Tuesday afternoon, Lovely sunny day here too, Ian. Peter had his cataract operation this morning. All went well, Daughter Caroline is staying with us at the moment, which we enjoy very much. But soon Caroline is going back to Sydney.
                    Good luck, Ian, with the publishing of your poems! Best wishes to you and Ana from Uta and Peter. 🙂 🙂

                    Like

                     
  15. prenin

    February 9, 2014 at 07:00

    Bittersweet this time Ian! 🙂

    Love betrayed, but not forgotten even across the centuries.

    A good piece! 🙂

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      February 11, 2014 at 07:00

      Thank you Prenin for taking the time to read and comment.
      I can always be sure of a great response from you my friend.
      Ian

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Russel Ray Photos

Life from Southern California, mostly San Diego County

Baydreamer

poetry and tidbits by lauren scott

Firelands History Website

"Sufferers' Land" Tales by Dave Barton

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Peppermint

Wicked Commentary

Michiko's space

Just another WordPress.com site

ckpeacemaker.wordpress.com/

^.^ Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Worpress ^.^

Sweet Planet Poems

poems about subjects dear to the heart

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life via poetry and prose

Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

