RSS

A Memory of a Christmas Past

21 Dec

I want to share this story with you all at this time of the year.

At this time of the year, many memorys are relived, watching the Carols by Candlelight,watching old Christmas movies, hearing Bing Crosby, Charles Dickens and The Ghosts of the past, present and future.

This is a true story I wrote many years ago, but back then I refrained from disclosing the full truth of that story, why ? It had a profound effect on me, as a poetic writer, I admit , my heart emotions run gently and I feel emotions of the heart deeply, I felt the truth of the incident were too personal to be understood.

I now share with you my Ghost from the past, my Christmas story.

After I retired from twenty years in the Australian Army, I was retired,I had a pension to get by on but time was hanging on my hands.

I took on various jobs, shark fishing off the coast of Tasmania, potato picking, grape picking and even a pub bouncer, till I got sick of being headbutted.

Then I decided to do a volunteer job for a community organization, the hours fluctuated, but was usually , an hour in the morning, an hour at midday and an hour in the afternoon. I became a Radio Announcer for the Vision Impaired.

I enjoyed my voluntary work, it gave me sense of worth and that I was contributing to society.

After two and a half years, Christmas came around, I had no partner and was sharing Christmas alone, I took myself off for a Christmas eve dinner at one of the local clubs.

Being Christmas eve, the dining room was packed, roughly over sixty diners were enjoying their meals, the noise was loud and full of gaity, I ordered my meal and proceeded to enjoy the meal and the laughter and gaiety around me.

Suddenly I felt a touch on my shoulder, I looked up and saw a beautiful girl staring at me, she said, you are Ian Felton arent you ?, I had never seen this girl before and replied yes, I am Ian.

She said I always wanted to see you

The girl then gently ran the fingers of both hands over my face. Yes she said, you are the Ian Felton I envisaged. She leant down and whispered into my ear, thank you Ian for keeping me company during the long hours in my dark world.

It was only as she walked away, that I realized she was blind, as I saw her take the white cane that was propped against the table.

The girl had recognized my voice out of a room full of boisterous gaiety.

Soon after that Christmas eve, for personal reasons, I retired as a radio broadcaster for the blind.

That girl taught me a lesson that Christmas eve.

Christmas is not always about what you see, its about what you feel in your heart.

Merry Christmas all, and share the love in your heart

Ian aka Emu

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 21, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “A Memory of a Christmas Past

  1. sudiste1359

    December 12, 2015 at 07:00

    magical history ian, thanks
    hugs

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
Baydreamer

poetry and tidbits by lauren scott

Russel Ray Photos

Life from Southern California, mostly San Diego County

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Peppermint

Wicked Commentary

Michiko's space

Just another WordPress.com site

ckpeacemaker.wordpress.com/

^.^ Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Worpress ^.^

Sweet Planet Poems

poems about subjects dear to the heart

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life via poetry and prose

Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

