RSS

A Paris Love Affair

18 Mar

 

Do you recall the night my love

When once we strolled

The streets of olde Paris

Beneath the gas lamps

Shrouded in soft falling rain

Hand in hand

On the cobblestones

On that night of love

We strolled

Feeling the cold mists rising

From the river Seine

 We were so in love

My sweet heart

Your eyes sparkled

In those early days

Of our happiness

I gazed into your eyes

With adoration

And caressed

Your long radiant hair

Protected that evening

By your parasol

 The gas lamps

Had just been lit

And you shyly

Clasped my hand

In your soft tender grip

Betoken tenderness in love

We strolled till late

My sweet heart

Till the gas lamps

Grew dim

 And beneath their fading light

We kissed

We professed our love for eternity

And arm in arm

In a lover’s dream

Our ghosts faded

Into the mists

Of the river Seine as

We strolled the olde Streets of Paris

 
43 Comments

Posted by on March 18, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

43 responses to “A Paris Love Affair

  1. aussieian2011

    April 3, 2015 at 07:00

    Reblogged this on Welcome To My World.

    Like

     
  2. Colline

    April 20, 2012 at 07:00

    Love Paris – and the song. Ah, brings back some childhood memories of some who love that song.

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      April 20, 2012 at 07:00

      I have never been to Paris Colline but in a past life it has beautiful memories
      Thank you for reading and commenting
      Aussie Ian

      Like

       
  3. lscotthoughts

    April 15, 2012 at 07:00

    Ian, this is so lovely and romantic and I can only dream of Paris, for now! Thank you for your visits to my blog, too~

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      April 15, 2012 at 07:00

      Thank you my friend for taking the time to read and comment on my poetry
      This poem was written out of imagination as I have never been to Paris
      My wife thinks it may be a memory of another life, one never knows
      Sunday night here now so bedtime for me soon, I wish you a beautiful week ahead
      Cheers
      Aussie Ian aka Aussie Emu

      Like

       
  4. Sabina Brave

    April 5, 2012 at 07:00

    The sky on the picture burns like the fire in their hearts 🙂
    You write beatifully about love…

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      April 6, 2012 at 07:00

      Yes the pic certainly illustrates the feelings in their hearts
      It is a beautiful feeling to have love like that, memories of younger days
      Happy Easter Sabina
      Aussie Ian

      Like

       
  5. claudia

    March 29, 2012 at 07:00

    smiles…paris is surely the ideal city to fall in love…aahhh…think i have to visit again..it’s not so far from where i live..

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      March 30, 2012 at 07:00

      Thanks Claudia for calling by and reading my poem
      I have to admit I have never been there so this poem was pure romantic imagination
      although my wife thinks I write from a past life, you are lucky to have seen the city of lovers
      If you go again please show many pics
      I wish you well and a beaut weekend
      Ian

      Like

       
  6. giselzitrone

    March 24, 2012 at 07:00

    Wunderschönes Video Romantisch wünsche dir ein schönes weekend Grüsse lieb Gislinde.

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      March 25, 2012 at 07:00

      Thanke you Gislinde
      Wishing you a beautiful Sunday
      Ian

      Like

       
  7. Androgoth

    March 22, 2012 at 07:00

    A truly wonderful poem Ian
    and I can see that everyone
    is enjoying your poetic art 🙂

    Be very well my great friend 🙂

    Androgoth

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      March 22, 2012 at 07:00

      Thanks Androgoth , think its time I started to come up with a new way of writing
      Even some of my poems are outdated and bloody boring to me, hope all is okay in Whitby with you and Jen
      My imagination or has Jen slowed down on posting ?
      Cheers mate
      Aussie Ian

      Like

       
      • Androgoth

        March 22, 2012 at 07:00

        Yes she is taking more time out at the moment and just adding bits and pieces but she will be back on shortly I can assure you of that our wickedly fine great friend 🙂

        BTW…

        Your style of poetry is not outdated Ian, as romantic offerings such as yours are always well received, you only need to read your readers comments for that one so keep up the great work 🙂

        Androgoth

        Like

         
        • aussieian2011

          March 22, 2012 at 07:00

          Thanks mate , really appreciate that comment
          Ian

          Like

           
          • Androgoth

            March 22, 2012 at 07:00

            You are most definitely welcome Ian
            and do enjoy your day today 🙂

            Androgoth

            Like

             
  8. rannycalderon

    March 22, 2012 at 07:00

    beautiful poem…recollecting the past …how beautiful xxx~connie

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      March 22, 2012 at 07:00

      Thank you dear Connie for taking the time to read and comment
      Wishing you well
      Aussie Ian

      Like

       
      • rannycalderon

        March 23, 2012 at 07:00

        Have a good day xxx~connie

        Like

         
        • aussieian2011

          March 23, 2012 at 07:00

          Wishing you a beaut Friday and a relaxing and enjoyable weekend
          Cheers
          Aussie Ian

          Like

           
  9. Sue Dreamwalker

    March 21, 2012 at 07:00

    Well Ian my friend, I left this post alone for a couple of days and still Nothing to see…This is so strange… All I see is the title, the About you and the comments!… So Paris Im affraid I have to say farewell too… Im sure its beautifully written as always are your poems, as I read from above comments… Your friend.. Sue 🙂

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      March 21, 2012 at 07:00

      No worries Sue , was just an old poem full of some sort of old mans reminicenses
      from a long forgotten past life.
      Hope your life is going well and you are happy but I can always feel your emotions
      and you are a happy and contented girl
      Cheers
      Ian and Ana and Emu

      Like

       
  10. Rosemary Monteith

    March 20, 2012 at 07:00

    Enjoyed this Ian lovely imagery, but just does not ring from your own soul, If that is the best way I can put it, or something lacking, I think perhaps you will be able to understand what I mean yourself, as I can not quite put my finger on it.
    luv Rosemary

    Like

     
  11. rosemarymonteith

    March 20, 2012 at 07:00

    Enjoyed this Ian, but lacking your own magic, if that explains it, just some thing different about it. Not from your own soul. I think I am not explaining it very well, perhaps you will understand what I mean.

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      March 20, 2012 at 07:00

      Not sure where the words or imagination came for this writing
      Very unusual for me but Ana seems to think I sometimes write from past lives
      Cheers
      Ian aka Emu

      Like

       
  12. rosemarymonteith

    March 20, 2012 at 07:00

    Enjoyed this Ian

    Like

     
  13. giselzitrone

    March 19, 2012 at 07:00

    Wunderschön Grüsse lieb Gislinde

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      March 20, 2012 at 07:00

      Thank you dear Gislinde, always love seeing you call in to comment in my space
      You are a beautiful friend and I wish you much love
      Ian aka Emu

      Like

       
  14. prenin

    March 19, 2012 at 07:00

    Sounds so much like a letter to a lover Ian.

    I could almost see it in my mind’s eye… 🙂

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      March 19, 2012 at 07:00

      Must admit I have never been to Paris
      This was written purely from imagination
      Have a great week mate
      Ian

      Liked by 1 person

       
  15. natswans

    March 19, 2012 at 07:00

    Oh so silky what a lovely poem. Paris I have never walked on the streets of Paris ….
    Have a lovely Sunday Hugs
    Sheila

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      March 19, 2012 at 07:00

      Must admit Sheila I have never been to Paris
      I wrote this purely from imagination , thanks for reading and commenting
      Cheers
      Ian

      Like

       
  16. Deb

    March 19, 2012 at 07:00

    I love it, Ian!
    Hugs, xx

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      March 19, 2012 at 07:00

      Thanks Deb , always enjoy seeing your name in my comments
      Wishing you well
      Ian

      Like

       
  17. Sue Dreamwalker

    March 18, 2012 at 07:00

    Oooops! Paris seems to have moved since the above comments, as All I can see is your title .. Maybe when I get back from lunch it will have returned and I can see your wonderful words Ian.. ~Sue xx

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      March 18, 2012 at 07:00

      Hope its all up and running Sue , just checked and its all there at my end
      Thanks anyway Princess for dropping by
      Cheers
      Ian

      Like

       
      • Sue Dreamwalker

        March 18, 2012 at 07:00

        Just checked again Ian and your page wouldnt even load, so it must be a glitch in the WP and my End maybe.. Your other post is not a problem I see that fine. Wierd- Gremlins! lol..

        Like

         
        • aussieian2011

          March 18, 2012 at 07:00

          Pull ya finger out girl and get tha bloody thing fixed
          Ian aka Emu

          Like

           
  18. einfachtilda

    March 18, 2012 at 07:00

    Sehr romantisch. Wunderschön ♥

    LG Mathilda!

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      March 18, 2012 at 07:00

      Thank you Princess for reading and commenting on my poem
      Aussie Ian

      Like

       
  19. Miro

    March 18, 2012 at 07:00

    Magical. 🙂 Paris truly is the city of romance. But as the old saying goes, “No matter where you go, there you are.” Paris can be anywhere. I often dance with my wife in the kitchen, and tell her how beautiful she is in the car. We needn’t travel to have to be in the romantic mood or have acuity for a woman’s beauty.
    Lovely write, thanks for sharing Ian.
    Peace.

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      March 18, 2012 at 07:00

      Thank you my friend Miro , for some reason the olde world of Paris holds my attraction
      My wife is a great believer in past lives and feels sure we were once lovers in Paris many lives ago
      No you dont have to travel to the land of love and romance Miro , hold your wife in your arms and gaze into her eyes
      She will take you to the land of love and romance
      Cheers
      Aussie Ian

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Russel Ray Photos

Life from Southern California, mostly San Diego County

Baydreamer

poetry and tidbits by lauren scott

Firelands History Website

"Sufferers' Land" Tales by Dave Barton

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Peppermint

Wicked Commentary

Michiko's space

Just another WordPress.com site

ckpeacemaker.wordpress.com/

^.^ Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Worpress ^.^

Sweet Planet Poems

poems about subjects dear to the heart

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life via poetry and prose

Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

