RSS

The Great Pretender

10 Sep

Oh yes, I’m the great pretender
Pretending I’m doing well
My need is such
I pretend too much
I’m lonely but no one can tell
Oh yes, I’m the great pretender
Adrift in a world of my own
I play the game but to my real shame
You’ve left me to dream all alone
Too real is this feeling of make-believe
Too real when I feel what my heart can’t conceal
Oh yes, I’m the great pretender
Just laughing and gay like a clown
I seem to be what I’m not you see
I’m wearing my heart like a crown
Too real when i feel what my heart can’t conceal
Oh yes, I’m the great pretender
Just laughing and gay like a clown
I seem to be what I’m not you see
I’m wearing my heart like a crown
Pretending that you’re…
Pretending that you’re still around

 
14 Comments

Posted by on September 10, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

14 responses to “The Great Pretender

  1. natswans

    September 16, 2011 at 07:00

    Great song Ian loved this one many a click indeed thanks again. Sheila 🙂

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      September 18, 2011 at 07:00

      Thanks Princess Sheila
      Sending you a big long Aussie hug
      Hope you are well girl and wish you much happiness
      Ian aka Emu

      Like

       
  2. penpusherpen

    September 12, 2011 at 07:00

    I think we’ve all been there Ian, putting on a show, trying to be brave and showing the World that all is ok when we’re really licking our wounds. … Sometimes the sparkle in the eye is a tear or two, but we recover…Great song and lyrics my friend. xPenx

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      September 12, 2011 at 07:00

      Hi my beautiful friend , thanks for the comment , my age now is a bit too old to be pretending but thinking back to my younger days I do remember trying to be someone I wasn’t , hope you are doing okay Princess and sending you a big squishy Aussie hug
      Cheers
      Aussie Ian aka Emu

      Like

       
  3. kate58

    September 11, 2011 at 07:00

    This tune is pure class. 🙂

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      September 11, 2011 at 07:00

      Glad you enjoyed that Princess
      Big hug from Aussie Ian

      Like

       
  4. Androgoth

    September 11, 2011 at 07:00

    There will be many that click the
    like button on this one Ian… I hope
    that you are having an excellent
    day / evening and weekend 🙂

    Androgoth

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      September 11, 2011 at 07:00

      Old one I know mate but I still live in the ancient era of the old songs that set the standards of music today , music , songs and lyrics may change but the guts of music in the western world was born after the second world war .
      Cheers Androgoth and all the best
      Aussie Ian

      Like

       
  5. suemacarthur

    September 11, 2011 at 07:00

    Love this song Ian and what wonderful voice
    Take care
    Sue

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      September 11, 2011 at 07:00

      Hi Sue , lovely to hear from you but dont see much of you on wordpress these days , looking forward to catching up with you before Christmas
      Ian

      Like

       
  6. prenin

    September 11, 2011 at 07:00

    I have a lot of respect for the groups of this era – I’m a big fan of the Ink Spots and Ella Fitzgerald who I have on CD – but they are also a reminder of the prejudice of the era.

    They could sing in clubs, but couldn’t enter them as clients…

    Beautiful voices though!!! 🙂

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      September 11, 2011 at 07:00

      Hi mate , yep the songs from the post war years really set the bar high for those that followed in the music world , still think we got the best music from that era , hope your doing okay mate and having a quiet Sunday ,
      Cheers
      Aussie Ian

      Like

       
  7. Sue Dreamwalker

    September 11, 2011 at 07:00

    A sad song Ian.. with Sad lyrics.. I think we can all be the Great Pretender at times… I just hope you are not living out those Songs lyrics my friend.. But one thing you can be is the Clown.. …. But many a clown is sad….
    Wishing you Well Ian.. And many thanks for your comments upon my blogs.. Sue

    Like

     
    • aussieian2011

      September 11, 2011 at 07:00

      An old favourite of mine Sue , in the past and with lifes mistakes I never knew if I was a great pretender or a bloody clown , thankfully now I know with Ana , yep I am a bloody loveable clown with a twinkle still in his eye , haven’t heard how you are going at work lately so hope all is okay , love to hear how you are doing
      Cheers Princess Sue
      Aussie Ian

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Russel Ray Photos

Life from Southern California, mostly San Diego County

Baydreamer

poetry and tidbits by lauren scott

Firelands History Website

"Sufferers' Land" Tales by Dave Barton

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Peppermint

Wicked Commentary

Michiko's space

Just another WordPress.com site

ckpeacemaker.wordpress.com/

^.^ Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Worpress ^.^

Sweet Planet Poems

poems about subjects dear to the heart

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life via poetry and prose

Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

