RSS

My Rose My Heart

03 Jul

Each year he sent her roses,

 

And the note would always say,

 

I love you even more this year,

 

Than last year on this day.

 

My love for you will always grow,

 

With every passing year.”

 

She knew this was the last time

 

That the roses would appear.

 

She thought, he ordered roses

 

In advance before this day.

 

Her loving husband did not know,

 

That he would pass away.

 

He always liked to do things early,

 

Way before the time.

 

Then, if he got too busy,

 

Everything would work out fine.

 

She trimmed the stems and

 

Placed them in a very special vase.

 

Then, sat the vase beside

 

The portrait of his smiling face.

 

She would sit for hours,

 

In her husband’s favorite chair. While staring at his picture,

 

And the roses sitting there.

 

A year went by, and it was

 

To live without her mate.

 

With loneliness and solitude,

 

That had become her fate.

 

Then, the very hour,

 

The doorbell rang, and there

 

Were roses sitting by her door.

 

She brought the roses in,

 

And then just looked at them in shock.

 

Then, went to get the telephone, To call the florist shop.

 

The owner answered, and she asked him,

 

If he would explain, Why would someone would

 

Do this to her, causing her such pain?

 

“I know your husband passed away,

 

More than a year ago,”

 

The owner said,

 

“I knew you’d call, and you would want to know.

 

The flowers you received today,

 

Were paid for in advance.

 

Your husband always planned ahead,

 

He left nothing to chance.

 

There is a standing order,

 

That I have on file down here,

 

And he has paid, well in advance,

 

You’ll get them every year.

 

There also is another thing,

 

That I think you should know,

 

He wrote a special little card…he did this years

 

Ago. Then, should ever I find out that he’s no longer here,

 

that’s the card that should be sent to you the following year.”

 

She thanked him and hung up the phone, her tears now flowing Hard.

 

Her fingers shaking,

 

As she slowly reached to get the card.

 

Inside the card, she saw that he

 

Had written her a note.

 

Then, as she stared in total silence,

 

This is what he wrote…

 

“Hello my love, I know it’s been a year

 

Since I’ve been gone.

 

I hope it hasn’t been too hard for you to

 

Overcome.

 

I know it must be lonely,

 

And the pain is very real.

 

Or if it was the other way,

 

I know how I would feel.

 

The love we shared made everything

 

So beautiful in life.

 

I loved you more than words can say,

 

You were the perfect wife.

 

You were my friend and lover,

 

You fulfilled my every need.

 

I know it’s only been a year,

 

But please try not to grieve.

 

I want you to be happy,

 

Even when you shed your tears.

 

That is why the roses will be sent to you for years.

 

When you get these roses,

 

Think of all the happiness that we had together,

 

And how both of us were blessed.

 

I have always loved you and

 

I know I always will.

 

But, my love, you must go on,

 

You have some living still.

 

Please…try to find happiness,

 

While living out your days.

 

I know it is not easy,

 

But I hope you find some ways.

 

The roses will come every year,

 

And they will only stop,

 

When your door’s not answered,

 

When the florist stops to knock.

 

He will come five times that day, In case you have gone out.

 

But after his last visit,

 

He will know without a doubt!

 

To take the roses to the place,

 

Where I’ve instructed him

 

And place the roses where we are,

 

Together once again.

This poetry is not my work and was forwarded to me by my wife

I dont know the author to give credit to however his words deserve recognition in that he is a wonderful writer with a romantic heart

Maybe his words were for you alone

Ian

 

 
22 Comments

Posted by on July 3, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

22 responses to “My Rose My Heart

  1. Bernardita Sanhueza

    July 5, 2011 at 07:00

    Like

     
  2. Cat.

    July 5, 2011 at 07:00

    Lovely, lovely, lovely writing, Ian. Be well. Love, cat

    Like

     
    • aussieian2010

      July 5, 2011 at 07:00

      Thanks Cat , glad you appreciate my blogs
      Wishing you much love
      Cheers
      Ian

      Like

       
  3. Mystique sunshine

    July 4, 2011 at 07:00

    Hi Ian,
    This reminded me of the movie P.S I love you.. Its a beautiful movie Ian n so is this poem… True love even when its lost, you can live the rest of your life with the feeling n cherish it forever… Need to be really blessed to have somebody like that…
    Hugs to you my friend

    Like

     
    • aussieian2010

      July 4, 2011 at 07:00

      I vaguely rember seeing that movie and must look for it again as it was very much in the romantic vein as this writing , thank you for taking the time to read and comment,
      Wishing you much love
      Ian

      Like

       
  4. penpusherpen

    July 4, 2011 at 07:00

    Wonderful and romantic Ian, no matter that it’s second or third time of reading, the message of love and hope it describes is just heart-lifting…. A love which transcends even Death itself, Roses to remember by.,.. and a song to listen to whilst you go misty eyed, can’t be bad eh? 😀 xPenx

    Like

     
    • aussieian2010

      July 4, 2011 at 07:00

      A very romantic writing I think and the unknown Author must have had a very romantic heart
      Cheers
      Ian

      Like

       
  5. Lady Jude

    July 4, 2011 at 07:00

    Loved the song of the sea, and the poem also Ian…

    Like

     
    • aussieian2010

      July 4, 2011 at 07:00

      Hi Lady Jude , thanks for the comment , yes that song is rather beautiful to the ears
      Hope you are well girl and the weather not too cold over your way
      Have a great week girl
      Ian

      Like

       
  6. Sue Dreamwalker

    July 4, 2011 at 07:00

    Hi Ian, this was one I had read before too… But awhile ago.. and it still managed to bring the tears.. A beautiful poem who ever the writer was. ~Sue~

    Like

     
    • aussieian2010

      July 4, 2011 at 07:00

      I have read this a few times before and dont know the author so decided to post it as a blog , the author must have had a romantic heart I think
      Ian

      Like

       
  7. jennygoth

    July 4, 2011 at 07:00

    lol hope i havent spoilt the romance xxjen

    Like

     
  8. jennygoth

    July 4, 2011 at 07:00

    yes ive read this before its a great idea if affordable hmm xxjen

    Like

     
    • aussieian2010

      July 4, 2011 at 07:00

      This poem has been around before and this time I decided to blog it
      The author is unknown so I think it was okay to post
      The author has a romantic heart I think
      Cheers
      Ian

      Like

       
  9. prenin

    July 3, 2011 at 07:00

    You got me shedding tears here Ian.

    I read this some time ago – the years have passed swiftly – but it still brings a lump to my throat…

    God bless my friend.

    Prenin.

    Like

     
    • aussieian2010

      July 3, 2011 at 07:00

      Must admit mate that its not the first time I have read this story and it still puts a lump in my throat , the unknown author must have been a bloody mushy romantic like me
      Ian

      Like

       
  10. michiko san

    July 3, 2011 at 07:00

    Well this is a lovely words in here Ian, I must said my hubby forgot left arrangement with the florist?
    I must check it out with one of the florist which we used to buy from them:-)
    I love the way you wrote sentimental love notice.
    Have a happy day.
    Michiko

    Like

     
    • aussieian2010

      July 3, 2011 at 07:00

      Glad you enjoyed that Michiko , author is unknown but he must have been a real romantic person
      Cheers
      Ian

      Like

       
  11. suemacarthur

    July 3, 2011 at 07:00

    Ian I have read this many time and i too dont know who wrote it but it is very beautiful and so full of love
    Take care
    Sue

    Like

     
    • aussieian2010

      July 3, 2011 at 07:00

      Hi Sue, yes I have seen and read this many times before too , this time I decided to make a blog of it as it is a very beautiful writing , don’t think I breached any copyright as the author is not known plus I said I never wrote it ,but must admit its something I probably would have written if I was as much a romantic as that writer
      Ian

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
ckpeacemaker.wordpress.com/

^.^ Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Worpress ^.^

Sweet Planet Poems

poems about subjects dear to the heart

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life via poetry and prose

Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

