RSS

The Officers Waltz

19 Oct

 

 

This poem was written a few years back and originated

from a dream I had at the time

It tells the story of the last evening shared by an

Officer in the Austrian army and his love

The night was the Officers ball

and the young Officer had just learnt that he was

 leaving for the war next

 morning so that night the ball was his last night

 with his love and he could not bring himself to tell her

 he was going to war the next day , hence the last lines

 in the poem

The Officers farewell waltz

I did write the follow-up story from my dreams on this

 18th century love and can say the officer did not

 return to his love

She pined for him ever after and he searched for her

 through many lives

They did find each other but not in that life but a life

 in another century

She gave him a stone on the night of the officers ball

The stone was made of laplazulli

and now in this life two lovers meet from lands beyond

 the realms of dreams

How did he know it was his ancient love?

How did she know him?

She gave him a stone on the night of the ball

A stone of Laplazulli

The stone I wear now

around my neck that circles my heart

Love had crossed the centuries and can cross all bounds

 in dreams

So my friends that is the origin of my poem

Maybe it wasn’t a dream

Maybe it’s real for those who believe in reincarnation

Maybe it explains why I pursued an army career for

 twenty years and became an officer

This is the story of my emotions on the last night with

 my love from a life before this century

Hope you enjoy

 

 

 

 

 

 How we danced in love

Those days

My beautiful bride

The orchestra played

In the officers ballroom

With its walls

Of purple

And borders edged

With shining gilded cherubs

The chairs

That lined the walls

Were of the softest velvet

The lights from the candelabra

That projected from the walls

Lit up the red uniforms

That littered the floor

Swaying to the sounds

Of Strauss

We graced the floor

Of the ballroom

Your golden curls shining

Beneath the chandeliers

That twinkled in the glow

Of your sparkling eyes

Illuminated from the love

Held within your breasts

Your long blue court dress

Grazing the floor

I held you in my arms

You recall my love

That night we waltzed

In a lovers trance

I held you in my arms

We waltzed till early morn

At the officers ball

My heart was breaking

And ached in love

Your love

Tore at my very soul

I did not want to let you

Out of my arms

I did not want

To break the spell

Of that moment in time

With tears in my eyes

And sobs upon my heart

I held you close

For one last dance

The Officers Farewell Waltz

 
14 Comments

Posted by on October 19, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

14 responses to “The Officers Waltz

  1. jennyozzy

    October 28, 2010 at 07:00

    this is my favourite xxjen

    Like

     
  2. lynnkaren4101

    October 26, 2010 at 07:00

    Hello Ian, I’m so glad I found you again since moving over from spaces live…
    Your poetry has always been special to me as you talk from your heart…Thanks
    for sharing, best wishes always…Lynn

    Like

     
    • aussieian2010

      October 27, 2010 at 07:00

      Thanks Lynn , nice to find you again , this wordpress is keeping me pretty active so I have lost and found friends non stop , hope all is well with you Princess Hugs Ian

      Like

       
  3. Rosemary Monteith

    October 20, 2010 at 07:00

    I do not know what to say, really moving, and beautiful Ian A case of love eternal.

    Like

     
    • aussieian2010

      October 20, 2010 at 07:00

      Good morning Rosemary , hope you are fine and all is well this beaut Wednesday morning , thanks for reading and commenting on my blog , your a good friend and I wish you much happiness and love Cheers Ian

      Like

       
  4. suedreamwalker

    October 20, 2010 at 07:00

    For one who believes in reincarnation and lives between lives.. I know we are given the blue-prints of memory to find who we are meant to find.. Such a wonderful background story to a beautiful heartfelt poem, which left tears in my eyes… Our Dreams tell us many things Ian and we should never give up on our dreams.. for if we dream hard enough, they come true. I am so pleased yours came true in this life time.. xox

    Like

     
    • aussieian2010

      October 20, 2010 at 07:00

      Good morning dear Sue , top of the morning to ye Sue how are you this foine day , sounds like I am turning irish today , must have been the guiness last night , hope your fine Sue and all is well in your neck of the woods , thanks for commenting on my writing , your a beaut girl Cheers Ian

      Like

       
  5. Ladyfor

    October 19, 2010 at 07:00

    Hi Ian, hope you are well!
    God bless you!
    Hugs!

    Like

     
    • aussieian2010

      October 20, 2010 at 07:00

      Good morning Ladyfor , hope you are well and happy this fine Wednesday morning , thanks for visiting my writings and space , wishing you much happiness and love Cheers Ian

      Like

       
  6. Lady Jude

    October 19, 2010 at 07:00

    Beautiful and quite sad. Well written.
    Have a great evening over there in Aussieland.

    Like

     
  7. penpusherpen

    October 19, 2010 at 07:00

    I often wonder about re-incarnation. Is it possible?
    This poem makes it seem very likely..and it’s very sad, heartbreak-ingly sad…Maybe we live our lives, and two people meet, things aren’t quite right…BUT ’til the next life?..’til the pieces of the puzzle fit.
    Just pondering , my friend..
    xPenx

    Like

     
    • aussieian2010

      October 19, 2010 at 07:00

      Thank you my dear friend for your comment on my poem , I am a great believer in reincarnation and feel as though many of my poems are written from the past both as a male and a female , reincarnation takes on many forms. Keep smiling girl Ian

      Like

       
  8. Aiq

    October 19, 2010 at 07:00

    This moment is very beautiful and painful. When you leave,remains a part of you behind. Is painful, if it is lost forever and remains only in memories.
    Have a nice day my dear friend Ian 😀

    Like

     
  9. suemacarthur

    October 19, 2010 at 07:00

    I like this one very much,
    good to see you made your self at home here Ian,
    Take care
    sue

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
ckpeacemaker.wordpress.com/

^.^ Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Wordpress ... Blogger ... Worpress ^.^

Sweet Planet Poems

poems about subjects dear to the heart

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life

Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

